Fragments of 1851 Census for Co. Antrim

Virtually all detailed enumerators' returns for any census before 1901 were either pulped or destroyed by fire. However, some fragments of the 1851 Census for Co. Antrim do still exist. These cover a selection of parishes and townlands in the Baronies of Kilconway, Glenarm, Aghalee, Aghagallon, Ballinderry and Killead.. This information is available [free] online at Note that in many cases the census is only available for certain townlands within each parish. Note, also, that the online database is not really a proper database. To find a family or an individual in the "database" you will have to search every townland using the Find command or simply scroll through the list of names in each townland.

Recently, I have created two databases of the census data available for the parishes and townlands of the Barony of Kilconway and the Barony of Glenarm. These two baronies lie within the area covered by my website. I am very grateful to William Scott for supplying me with the "raw material" for these databases - which are available in Excel - PDF formats on both the Census Records webpage and the Databases compiled from Nineteenth-Century Census Substitutes webpage. The parishes and townlands covered by these two databases are outlined below.


Ballymoney Parish - townland of Garryduff only. The remaining 100 or so townlands in the parish are situated in the Barony of Dunluce Upper and the census forms for these did not survive.

Rasharkin Parish - townlands of Killydonnelly, Lisnacavor, Magheraboy, Moneyleck, Tamlaght, Tehorny and the Village of Rasharkin.

Craigs Parish - townland of Craigs only. The remaining 21 townlands in the parish are situated in the Barony of Toome Lower and the census forms for these did not survive.

Dunaghy Parish - townlands of Artnacrea, Ballybogy, Ballycregagh, Ballyreagh, Caragan, Carn Beg, Carnmore, Carrowcowan, Cloghgaldanagh, Craigdunloof, Craigfad, Craigadock, Dunbought, Drumagrove, Dungonnell, Eglish, Evishacrow, Farnacushog, Glebe, Glenleslie, Inchamp, Irish Omerbane, Killyree, Kinflea and Legragrane, Limavallaghan, Lisnamanny, Magheraboy, Moneyduff, Rosedermot, Tuftarney, Tullybane, Tullynewy and Tullykittagh Lower and Upper. Note that the townlands in italics are not included in the searchforancestors website but are included in the Excel & PDF databases. Note, however that Upper Tullykittagh is not included in these databases. Note also that Limavallaghan is listed as being in the parish of Newtowncromelin but is, in fact, in Dunaghy parish.


Carncastle Parish - townlands of Ballygally, Ballycoos, Ballygilbert, Ballyruther, Ballytober, Ballywillan, Carnfarnock, Corkermain, Drains Bog, Droagh, Drumnageeragh, Four Score acres, Linford, Lisnahay North and South, Loughduff, Minnis North and South, Sallagh, Solar and the Village of Old Mills, Ballygally.

Grange of Killyglen Parish - townlands of Ballymullock, Drains, Dromain and Killyglen.

Kilwaughter Parish - townlands of Ballyedward, Ballyhampton, Ballykeel, Boydstown, Craiginorne, Demesne and Druminadonaghy.

Larne Parish - townlands of Antiville, Ballyboley, Ballycraigy, Ballyloran, Ballycave North and South, Curran and Drumalis, Glebe, Greenland, Townparks and Town of Larne.

Tickmacrevan Parish - Town of Glenarm only. Note that the Parish of Tickmacrevan lies in the Barony of Glenarm Lower and the other Parishes are located within the Barony of Glenarm Upper.

Copyright 2015 W. Macafee.